The graduate

GraduateSo, this past June I graduate from the Savannah College of Art and Design. It was my home for 3 years and countless hours of amazing critique, steeping tea, and dirty finger nails. Not to mention the up-all-nighters and midnight beach walks. I have seen amazing professors and driven students. I have tried to connect with as many as I could and share my purpose with whoever asked. I said goodbye to another step of life and as my fingers cling to the edge of what seems like a huge precipice, I know that with the strength of the Lord I will conquer this one just the same. So thank you for coming with me on this journey, and if you would hear it, I will tell you what sort of things have been next.

explo_logo

Over the summer I was blessed to serve as a teacher to 6th and 7th graders at Exploration Summer Camp. As a staff of about 100 we catered to making this the most amazing and beneficial summer a child could have. We labored hard for 7 weeks and educated, entertained, and cared for over 600 students. I taught a Painting class, a Drawing class, and a wire art workshop in which the students learned about the elements of Design, drawing from life and learning to explore their own imaginations. At some points it was a rocky road, but overall it was a very successful summer. I was also very fortunate to care personally for 12 girls, who lived on my hall. Alongside my co-RA, the amazing Leah, we played, worked, and talked with these girls for a majority of the day. We watched them cry from homesickness, laugh at the ridiculous and stare in awe at what they achieved and the friendships they made by the end of the session. It was a good summer, and I so hope to make it back one day. For now, the next step…

scad_logo.thumbnail

I now work for the Savannah College of Art and Design. The amazing school I graduated from. I am currently about one month in and my position is the Departmental Assistant in Painting. Its like I have been able to come home to Savannah, and I can continue to pour into all the people I started with. Its an ease into the real word and a giant thrust at the same time. I have my own health care- what? I still see most of my same friends on a daily basis and I can continue at my home church. I am beyond blessed, and I try to remind myself that no matter where I am, I will always be beyond blessed. I have two verses posted to my computer screen that I try to remember daily as I think if I would want to be anywhere else. They are Proverbs 16:9 and Psalm 37:5, “The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps. Commit your way to the Lord, trust in Him and He will act.”

So you are all caught up. I am looking forward to my next project- keep an eye out, its based on 1 Corinthians 13. (Because why would I go anywhere else?) 😉

Until next time…

